Shop No.20, Aurobindo Palace Market, Near Church 110016 New Delhi IN
Midland Book Shop
Shop No.20, Aurobindo Palace Market, Near Church New Delhi, IN
+919818282497 https://cdn1.storehippo.com/s/607fe93d7eafcac1f2c73ea4/60a9fa61cd181a1e5419de29/webp/midlandnew-480x480.png" admin@midlandbookshop.com
9781526612748 61aa16cbde96585f73121720 The Butcher Of Berner Street A Leo Stanhope Case https://cdn1.storehippo.com/s/607fe93d7eafcac1f2c73ea4/61aa196a71b9a0e0e86d9cf2/webp/513xm6nzoxl-_sx324_bo1-204-203-200_.jpg

The latest atmospheric mystery from the author of the Richard and the Judy Book Club choice, The House on Half Moon Street.

'Exceptional - you hear and smell and taste Victorian London' Sarah Hilary

The headlines scream warnings about the 'Butcher of Berner Street!' and the journalist behind them - Leo Stanhope - is secretly thrilled to see the effect his words are having.

Leo is used to covering more mundane issues, but when an anonymous letter summons him to a club in East London, only for the owner of the club to be found murdered shortly afterwards, Leo sees a story worth pursuing. Not to mention an opportunity to make a name for himself.

Yet the more Leo digs, the stranger the story becomes, taking him from the club to a nearby convent, and into the past of a very unusual woman. But he is not the only one hunting for a killer. And it seems Leo's newspaper reports may have put someone else in grave danger.


The Butcher of Berner Street is a brilliantly atmospheric, characterful Victorian mystery, perfect for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Abir Mukherjee and Andrew Taylor.

 
 

Review

The atmosphere is exceptional - you hear and smell and taste Victorian London - while the themes are thoroughly up to date. Alex has combined painstaking historical research with a deep and compassionate understanding of what matters most to us, right now -- Sarah Hilary

The writing sings with gorgeous description but, more than that, achieves poignancy through Leo's keen sense of how it feels to be misunderstood. Here is an investigator with an open heart. Immaculately researched, sensitively written and, as ever, highly exciting -- John McCullough

This series goes from strength to strength, and the relationships between the characters elevate it from any standard mystery. I'm already longing for the next Leo Stanhope instalment -- Sarah Franklin

Reeve has not only crafted a brilliant crime novel, but has created a character who has made me see the world with new eyes -- Praise for the Leo Stanhope series - i

Wonderfully atmospheric, each page carries the whiff of sulphur and gaslight -- Praise for the Leo Stanhope series - Red

A deeply atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than the grubby streets of London, and a central character we really care about -- Praise for the Leo Stanhope series - Heat

Book Description

An anonymous letter summons fledgling journalist Leo Stanhope to an East End club, only for the owner to be found murdered in this highly atmospheric, characterful Victorian mystery, perfect for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Abir Mukherjee and Andrew Taylor

About the Author

Alex Reeve lives in Buckinghamshire and is a university lecturer. Richard & Judy Book Club pick The House on Half Moon Street was his debut, and the first in a series of books featuring Leo Stanhope. The second, The Anarchists' Club, will be out in May 2019.

@storyjoy

 
9781526612748
in stock INR 399
1 1

The Butcher Of Berner Street A Leo Stanhope Case

ISBN: 9781526612748
₹399
₹499   (20% OFF)


Available At: Hauz Khas
Details
  • ISBN: 9781526612748
  • Author: Alex Reeve
  • Publisher: Raven Books
  • Pages: 400
  • Format: Paperback

Book Description

The latest atmospheric mystery from the author of the Richard and the Judy Book Club choice, The House on Half Moon Street.

'Exceptional - you hear and smell and taste Victorian London' Sarah Hilary

The headlines scream warnings about the 'Butcher of Berner Street!' and the journalist behind them - Leo Stanhope - is secretly thrilled to see the effect his words are having.

Leo is used to covering more mundane issues, but when an anonymous letter summons him to a club in East London, only for the owner of the club to be found murdered shortly afterwards, Leo sees a story worth pursuing. Not to mention an opportunity to make a name for himself.

Yet the more Leo digs, the stranger the story becomes, taking him from the club to a nearby convent, and into the past of a very unusual woman. But he is not the only one hunting for a killer. And it seems Leo's newspaper reports may have put someone else in grave danger.


The Butcher of Berner Street is a brilliantly atmospheric, characterful Victorian mystery, perfect for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Abir Mukherjee and Andrew Taylor.

 
 

Review

The atmosphere is exceptional - you hear and smell and taste Victorian London - while the themes are thoroughly up to date. Alex has combined painstaking historical research with a deep and compassionate understanding of what matters most to us, right now -- Sarah Hilary

The writing sings with gorgeous description but, more than that, achieves poignancy through Leo's keen sense of how it feels to be misunderstood. Here is an investigator with an open heart. Immaculately researched, sensitively written and, as ever, highly exciting -- John McCullough

This series goes from strength to strength, and the relationships between the characters elevate it from any standard mystery. I'm already longing for the next Leo Stanhope instalment -- Sarah Franklin

Reeve has not only crafted a brilliant crime novel, but has created a character who has made me see the world with new eyes -- Praise for the Leo Stanhope series - i

Wonderfully atmospheric, each page carries the whiff of sulphur and gaslight -- Praise for the Leo Stanhope series - Red

A deeply atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than the grubby streets of London, and a central character we really care about -- Praise for the Leo Stanhope series - Heat

Book Description

An anonymous letter summons fledgling journalist Leo Stanhope to an East End club, only for the owner to be found murdered in this highly atmospheric, characterful Victorian mystery, perfect for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Abir Mukherjee and Andrew Taylor

About the Author

Alex Reeve lives in Buckinghamshire and is a university lecturer. Richard & Judy Book Club pick The House on Half Moon Street was his debut, and the first in a series of books featuring Leo Stanhope. The second, The Anarchists' Club, will be out in May 2019.

@storyjoy

 

Reviews By Goodreads

User reviews

  0/5