Shop No.20, Aurobindo Palace Market, Near Church 110016 New Delhi IN
Midland Book Shop
Shop No.20, Aurobindo Palace Market, Near Church New Delhi, IN
+919818282497 https://cdn1.storehippo.com/s/607fe93d7eafcac1f2c73ea4/60a9fa61cd181a1e5419de29/webp/midlandnew-480x480.png" admin@midlandbookshop.com
9781526613752 611e4c0b43827504d08d8088 Ways to Grow Love (A Ryan Hart Story) https://cdn1.storehippo.com/s/607fe93d7eafcac1f2c73ea4/611e4c0d43827504d08d8109/webp/51kf72asefl-_sx322_bo1-204-203-200_.jpg

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson continues her charming young middle grade series starring Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit and sunshine.

Ryan Hart and her family are back in another installment of stories about a Black girl finding her way and her voice as she grows through change and challenges. In this book, Ryan finds herself waiting on lots of things -- like for her new sister to be born healthy, for her new recipes to turn out right, for that summer camp trip to go better than she fears! And of course Ryan is facing these new challenges and new experiences in her classic style -- with a bright outlook and plenty of spirit!

Review

Intermittently funny, frustrating, and touching. . . . Allows black readers to see themselves and all readers to find a character they can love. Move over Ramona Quimby, Portland has another neighbor you have to meet! ― Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Adroitly captures the uncertainty of growing up amid change through the eyes of an irrepressible black girl. ― Publishers Weekly, starred review, on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Ryan Hart approaches challenges in her life with bravery, common sense, and humor. . . . a refreshing character. ― Horn Book Magazine on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Middle graders who like realistic fiction will enjoy getting to know this earnest girl and her supportive family. ― School Library Connection on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Plenty of charm . . . readers will look forward to Ryan's future adventures. ― BCCB on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

The theme of loving family and friends even through difficult times will resonate with readers. Cheerful black-and-white illustrations enhance the story and convey Ryan's effervescent personality. ― School Library Journal online on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Renée Watson is a gifted storyteller who brings vibrant new meaning to time and place. In this beautiful blend of family, history, and culture, Watson lets us discover that one's true home is rooted in the heart and soul. ― Andrea Davis Pinkney, New York Times bestselling author of THE RED PENCIL on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Renée Watson's storytelling mastery is on full display in Some Places More Than Others, which is so thematically vibrant and emotionally rich as to defy description. A magnificent book. ― Mike Jung, author of UNIDENTIFIED SUBURBAN OBJECT on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

A beautiful novel about family and forgiveness, about the memories we carry with us wherever we go, and the places our hearts call home. ― Kate Messner, award-winning author of BREAKOUT on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

A meaningful opportunity for students--particularly those in underrepresented communities--to celebrate themselves and their identities. ― School Library Connection, starred review, on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Watson is a master of structure and character development. . . . Amara's search for her roots is tender and empowering. ― School Library Journal, starred review, on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

A much-needed novel about the importance of roots and family connections. ― Foreword Reviews, starred review, on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Captures a young person's growing enlightenment as she experiences one of the world's most culturally rich neighborhoods. . . . Very relatable. . . . Quietly powerful.

― The New York Times Book Review on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Timely and timeless. ― Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of BROWN GIRL DREAMING on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Watson, with rhythm and style, somehow gets at . . . the life-changing power of voice and opportunity, all wrapped up in Jade. ― Jason Reynolds, author of ALL AMERICAN BOYS on PIECING ME TOGETHER

An important and deeply moving novel. ― John Green, bestselling and award-winning author of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Teeming with compassion and insight. ― Publishers Weekly, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

A timely, nuanced, and unforgettable story. ― Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

A nuanced meditation on race, privilege, and intersectionality. ― SLJ, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Will resonate with many readers. ― BCCB, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Book Description

From New York Times-bestselling and multi-award-winning author Renée Watson comes the start of a character-driven, young middle grade series starring a black girl and her relatable and lovable family. Perfect for fans of Clarice Bean and the Pea books by Susie Day

About the Author

Renée Watson is the New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor Book, and Coretta Scott King Award-winning author of Piecing Me Together, This Side of HomeWhat Momma Left Me, and Betty Before X, co-written with Ilyasah Shabazz, as well as two acclaimed picture books: A Place Where Hurricanes Happen and Harlem's Little Blackbird, which was nominated for an NAACP Image Award. She is the founder of I, Too, Arts Collective, a nonprofit committed to nurturing underrepresented voices in the creative arts, and currently lives in New York City.
www.reneewatson.net; @reneewauthor

9781526613752
in stockINR 299
1 1
Ways to Grow Love (A Ryan Hart Story)

Ways to Grow Love (A Ryan Hart Story)

ISBN: 9781526613752
₹299


Available At: Hauz Khas
Details
  • ISBN: 9781526613752
  • Author: Renée Watson and Mechal Roe
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
  • Pages: 240
  • Format: Paperback

Book Description

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson continues her charming young middle grade series starring Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit and sunshine.

Ryan Hart and her family are back in another installment of stories about a Black girl finding her way and her voice as she grows through change and challenges. In this book, Ryan finds herself waiting on lots of things -- like for her new sister to be born healthy, for her new recipes to turn out right, for that summer camp trip to go better than she fears! And of course Ryan is facing these new challenges and new experiences in her classic style -- with a bright outlook and plenty of spirit!

Review

Intermittently funny, frustrating, and touching. . . . Allows black readers to see themselves and all readers to find a character they can love. Move over Ramona Quimby, Portland has another neighbor you have to meet! ― Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Adroitly captures the uncertainty of growing up amid change through the eyes of an irrepressible black girl. ― Publishers Weekly, starred review, on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Ryan Hart approaches challenges in her life with bravery, common sense, and humor. . . . a refreshing character. ― Horn Book Magazine on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Middle graders who like realistic fiction will enjoy getting to know this earnest girl and her supportive family. ― School Library Connection on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Plenty of charm . . . readers will look forward to Ryan's future adventures. ― BCCB on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

The theme of loving family and friends even through difficult times will resonate with readers. Cheerful black-and-white illustrations enhance the story and convey Ryan's effervescent personality. ― School Library Journal online on WAYS TO MAKE SUNSHINE

Renée Watson is a gifted storyteller who brings vibrant new meaning to time and place. In this beautiful blend of family, history, and culture, Watson lets us discover that one's true home is rooted in the heart and soul. ― Andrea Davis Pinkney, New York Times bestselling author of THE RED PENCIL on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Renée Watson's storytelling mastery is on full display in Some Places More Than Others, which is so thematically vibrant and emotionally rich as to defy description. A magnificent book. ― Mike Jung, author of UNIDENTIFIED SUBURBAN OBJECT on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

A beautiful novel about family and forgiveness, about the memories we carry with us wherever we go, and the places our hearts call home. ― Kate Messner, award-winning author of BREAKOUT on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

A meaningful opportunity for students--particularly those in underrepresented communities--to celebrate themselves and their identities. ― School Library Connection, starred review, on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Watson is a master of structure and character development. . . . Amara's search for her roots is tender and empowering. ― School Library Journal, starred review, on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

A much-needed novel about the importance of roots and family connections. ― Foreword Reviews, starred review, on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Captures a young person's growing enlightenment as she experiences one of the world's most culturally rich neighborhoods. . . . Very relatable. . . . Quietly powerful.

― The New York Times Book Review on SOME PLACES MORE THAN OTHERS

Timely and timeless. ― Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of BROWN GIRL DREAMING on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Watson, with rhythm and style, somehow gets at . . . the life-changing power of voice and opportunity, all wrapped up in Jade. ― Jason Reynolds, author of ALL AMERICAN BOYS on PIECING ME TOGETHER

An important and deeply moving novel. ― John Green, bestselling and award-winning author of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Teeming with compassion and insight. ― Publishers Weekly, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

A timely, nuanced, and unforgettable story. ― Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

A nuanced meditation on race, privilege, and intersectionality. ― SLJ, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Will resonate with many readers. ― BCCB, starred review, on PIECING ME TOGETHER

Book Description

From New York Times-bestselling and multi-award-winning author Renée Watson comes the start of a character-driven, young middle grade series starring a black girl and her relatable and lovable family. Perfect for fans of Clarice Bean and the Pea books by Susie Day

About the Author

Renée Watson is the New York Times bestselling, Newbery Honor Book, and Coretta Scott King Award-winning author of Piecing Me Together, This Side of HomeWhat Momma Left Me, and Betty Before X, co-written with Ilyasah Shabazz, as well as two acclaimed picture books: A Place Where Hurricanes Happen and Harlem's Little Blackbird, which was nominated for an NAACP Image Award. She is the founder of I, Too, Arts Collective, a nonprofit committed to nurturing underrepresented voices in the creative arts, and currently lives in New York City.
www.reneewatson.net; @reneewauthor

Reviews By Goodreads

User reviews

  0/5