Shop No.20, Aurobindo Palace Market, Hauz Khas, Near Church +91 9818282497 | 011 26867121 110016 New Delhi IN
Midland The Book Shop ™
Shop No.20, Aurobindo Palace Market, Hauz Khas, Near Church +91 9818282497 | 011 26867121 New Delhi, IN
+919871604786 https://www.midlandbookshop.com/s/607fe93d7eafcac1f2c73ea4/6468e33c3c35585403eee048/without-tag-line-480x480.png" [email protected]
9781398707283 65d9d8a7c3e5b443a2c83423 The Daughters Of Madurai https://www.midlandbookshop.com/s/607fe93d7eafcac1f2c73ea4/65d9d8a8c3e5b443a2c8345e/819hojddcil-_sy425_.jpg

Review

Exquisitely drawn, this book will pull you in from the first page. Nila and Janani's stories are delicately woven together and the sights, sounds and smells of India are so vivid. Heartrending but ultimately hopeful, this is a richly evocative and spellbinding book which will touch your soul. I raced through it as I was desperate to know what happens, but now I will return to read it more slowly and savour every word. - Veronica Henry

A haunting, powerful novel. - Thrity Umrigar

An absolutely beautiful debut about motherhood, family, friendship, and love. It tackles immensely difficult themes with such grace and tenderness. I can't wait to read more from Rajasree. - Jyoti Patel

A truly powerful story that remains with you long after the final word has been read. - GLAMOUR

Utterly devastating and quietly hopeful. - WOMAN'S OWN

This raw and moving debut packs a punch. - PLATINUM

Heart-breaking, emotional and thought-provoking... this book will stay with me for a long time. - Aliya Ali-Afzal, author of Would I Lie to You?

A captivating and riveting debut from an unforgettable new voice. - Louise O'Neill

Once read it is not easily forgotten. -- Fanny Blake - DAILY MAIL

Madurai is brought to life in vivid descriptions of ornate, colourful temples, hectic streets and delicious meals... You won't be able to put down this compelling novel. -- Elizabeth Archer - SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE

THE DAUGHTERS OF MADURAI is an assured and accomplished debut about the courage of women. I cared deeply about the brave and loving Janani, fighting against misogyny and tradition to save her unborn child in India; I identified strongly with Australian Nila, raised in the diaspora, who is torn between culture and identity. It's a beautiful story, hauntingly written, and I look forward to more from Rajasree Variyar. - Julie Cohen

Powerful and important. - Karen Angelico

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri and Delia Owens, The Daughters of Madurai is a moving and powerful debut. How far would you go for the ones you love?

About the Author

Rajasree Variyar grew up in Sydney, Australia and now lives in London, where she juggles writing alongside a career in digital insurance product development. She received her MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia in 2020. Her manuscript of The Daughters of Madurai was shortlisted for Hachette UK's 2019 Mo Siewcharran prize. Her short stories have won second prize in the Shooter Literary Magazine short story competition and been long-listed for the Brick Lane Bookshop short story competition.
 
9781398707283
in stock INR 559
1 1

The Daughters Of Madurai

ISBN: 9781398707283
₹559
₹699   (20% OFF)



Details
  • ISBN: 9781398707283
  • Author: Rajasree Variyar
  • Publisher: Orion
  • Pages: 400
  • Format: Paperback
SHARE PRODUCT

Book Description

Review

Exquisitely drawn, this book will pull you in from the first page. Nila and Janani's stories are delicately woven together and the sights, sounds and smells of India are so vivid. Heartrending but ultimately hopeful, this is a richly evocative and spellbinding book which will touch your soul. I raced through it as I was desperate to know what happens, but now I will return to read it more slowly and savour every word. - Veronica Henry

A haunting, powerful novel. - Thrity Umrigar

An absolutely beautiful debut about motherhood, family, friendship, and love. It tackles immensely difficult themes with such grace and tenderness. I can't wait to read more from Rajasree. - Jyoti Patel

A truly powerful story that remains with you long after the final word has been read. - GLAMOUR

Utterly devastating and quietly hopeful. - WOMAN'S OWN

This raw and moving debut packs a punch. - PLATINUM

Heart-breaking, emotional and thought-provoking... this book will stay with me for a long time. - Aliya Ali-Afzal, author of Would I Lie to You?

A captivating and riveting debut from an unforgettable new voice. - Louise O'Neill

Once read it is not easily forgotten. -- Fanny Blake - DAILY MAIL

Madurai is brought to life in vivid descriptions of ornate, colourful temples, hectic streets and delicious meals... You won't be able to put down this compelling novel. -- Elizabeth Archer - SUNDAY EXPRESS S MAGAZINE

THE DAUGHTERS OF MADURAI is an assured and accomplished debut about the courage of women. I cared deeply about the brave and loving Janani, fighting against misogyny and tradition to save her unborn child in India; I identified strongly with Australian Nila, raised in the diaspora, who is torn between culture and identity. It's a beautiful story, hauntingly written, and I look forward to more from Rajasree Variyar. - Julie Cohen

Powerful and important. - Karen Angelico

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Christy Lefteri and Delia Owens, The Daughters of Madurai is a moving and powerful debut. How far would you go for the ones you love?

About the Author

Rajasree Variyar grew up in Sydney, Australia and now lives in London, where she juggles writing alongside a career in digital insurance product development. She received her MA in Creative Writing from the University of East Anglia in 2020. Her manuscript of The Daughters of Madurai was shortlisted for Hachette UK's 2019 Mo Siewcharran prize. Her short stories have won second prize in the Shooter Literary Magazine short story competition and been long-listed for the Brick Lane Bookshop short story competition.
 

User reviews

  0/5